Sunday, November 17, 2013

The Grimm Chronicles Vol. 1 by: Isabelle Fontaine and Ken Brosky

Publication Date: August 2012

Overview: 200 years ago, the Brothers Grimm unleashed their stories upon the world. Literally.  
Now the characters of the Grimm's stories walk among us. With every day that passes, they grow more evil. They are the Corrupted, and only a hero can stop them. 
For 18-year-old Alice Goodenough, that means taking precious time off from her summer vacation. In addition to volunteering at the local library, Alice must stop the Corrupted who are now actively hunting her down. With the help of her magic pen and her trusty rabbit friend, the world has suddenly gotten a lot more complex. The Corrupted are everywhere, and only Alice can see them for what they truly are. 
Episode 1: Prince Charming Must Die!  
Alice Goodenough has been chosen to be the new hero, but not before undergoing a test to see if she's worthy. Shaken, confused, Alice discovers that her weapon is a magic fountain pen and her ammunition is her mind: whatever she can draw, she can create. With the help of a rabbit friend, Alice must learn the ways of the hero and discover the truth about her frightening dreams: who is the terrible creature feeding on its victims at night? 
Episode 2: Happily Never After  
Alice's nightmares have begun to grow more real. Terrifying man-eating rats are plaguing the city of Chicago, and it's up to Alice to figure out a way to stop them. But before she can do that, she'll have to face off with an even more dangerous enemy sent to kill her. 
An enemy that has killed heroes before ...
Episode 3: Revenge of the Castle Cats 
After being rushed to the hospital, Alice Goodenough finds herself trapped in the worst dream imaginable: a horrible monster is hunting in the darkness, searching for its next victim: Alice. It will stop at nothing to kill her.
And that's not the worst of it. All across the city, people are growing more addicted to Castle Cats, a smartphone game created by Grayle Incorporated. And it's not just a game. The more you play, the more it controls you. Soon, Alice learns that the dwarfs who run Grayle Incorporated are watching her everywhere she goes, using human beings to spy on her.
There must be a confrontation. Sam Grayle and his brothers have to be stopped. And Alice is going to need help.

My thoughts: Honestly, I liked this book. I believe it fit along side all the others who have begun to emerge trying to bring these fairy tales to a new audience.The character is very relate-able something has yet to be found, in my opinion. She's not your typical: already fit, trained from birth type. She could be anyone, you or me! She has to learn everything thing from the start which is something that needs to be shown, she's the underdog.
This is a different spin on things. Most of the stories keep the good people good and the bad one bad, but they change it up. They make everyone part of The Corrupted/evil. I love the uncertainty whether or not Briar will stay on her side. This seems so real.

There are a few things I would change:
-First, the layout of the book. You are going between three characters thoughts and ways of telling their part, it's a bit much and gets a little confusing. The old journal entries give a good background/back story of information and Briar's part explains when the two are split up, but that's why it took me a while to get through it. I think there has to be a better way to lay that out. To make it easier to get through. 
-Secondly, I dislike that the First Corrupted she has to kill is her boyfriend. To me it felt as though she was tossed in the deep end of the pool with out learning to swim and expected to survive. Maybe adding that smaller character to get her feet wet, so we could see her fight the truth of things.
-Third, Her name was a bit odd to me, it seemed a bit last minute.

My rating: 4 stars
Up Next: Grimm Chronicles Vol. 2

No comments:

Post a Comment